top of page


Anchor 1


Frank B. Anderson Sr. grew up in Douglasville and played football and baseball at the University of Georgia, where he lettered in both sports and was baseball Team Captain in 1904. He began his teaching and coaching career at the University School for Boys in Stone Mountain where he won a baseball state Championship in his first season. He also coached at R.E. Lee Institute and Gordon Military Institute. He served as head coach at The University of Georgia and Oglethorpe University. At Oglethorpe, he started both the baseball and football programs and was Athletic Director. Known as the “Dean of Southern Baseball Coaches,” the baseball field at Oglethorpe is named in his honor.

Anchor 2


Wally Butts captained the Mercer University football team in 1927 but is best known as the legendary football coach at the University of Georgia. From 1939 to 1960, his teams compiled a record of 140–86–9 winning National Championships in 1942 and 1946. Two of Georgia’s greatest players were members of Butts’ teams: 1942 Heisman Trophy winner Frank Sinkwich and 1946 Maxwell Award winner Charley Trippi. The ’42 team won the Rose Bowl over UCLA, finished #2 in the AP Poll, but were named National Champions by a number of selectors. Butts resigned as UGA's head football coach in December 1960 but remained as athletic director until February 1963. He was inducted posthumously into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1997. The famed Butts-Mehre building housing UGA’s athletic administration offices and sports museum was named in honor of Butts and his predecessor as coach, Harry Mehre. 

Anchor 3


Ivy M. “Chick” Shiver was born in Sylvester and was a star football and baseball player for the University of Georgia from 1926 to 1928. He was an All-Southern and All-American performer in football, and his baseball prowess led him to a major league baseball career, playing for both the Detroit Tigers and the Cincinnati Reds. He coached and was Athletic Director at Armstrong State College from 1937 to 1941. He went on to become a legendary high school coach at Savannah High School, where he coached the football team to a state title in 1942. He also coached the basketball team to state championships in 1946 and 1947. 

Anchor 4


Louise Suggs was from Atlanta and was a groundbreaking figure in women’s golf. She was one of the founding members of the LPGA Tour, and is 4th all-time in LPGA wins with 61. During her career, she won multiple major tournaments, including the LPGA Championship in 1957. She was also part of the Curtis Cup winning team for the United States in 1948. She was the Tour’s top money winner in 1953 and 1960. In 2007, Suggs was the recipient of the Bob Jones Award in recognition of distinguished sportsmanship in golf. The Louise Suggs Rolex Rookie of the Year Award is given annually to the most accomplished first-year player on the LPGA tour. Suggs became a member of the World Golf Hall of Fame in 1951 and was the first female member inducted into the Georgia Sports Hall of Fame.

bottom of page